Publisher: Bantam

January 23, 2017

Review | Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

Review | Dragonfly in Amber by Diana GabaldonDragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon
Series: Outlander #2
Publisher: Bantam, August 2001
Pages: 743
Format: Paperback
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 With her now-classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon introduced two unforgettable characters—Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser—delighting readers with a story of adventure and love that spanned two centuries. Now Gabaldon returns to that extraordinary time and place in this vivid, powerful follow-up to Outlander.  DRAGONFLY IN AMBER  For nearly twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones... about a love that transcends the boundaries of time... and about Jamie Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his.   Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart... in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising... and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves.

Claire Randall Frasier has lived the past twenty years believing that Jamie was dead. And finally, she has gathered the courage to go back to Scotland for the first time in nearly two decades to discover what happened to him at the Battle of Culloden.

Dragonfly in Amber is, quite simply, an emotional roller coaster ride. Gabaldon’s narrative switches between 1968 Claire, a woman who is trying to make it work after she loses the love of her life and 1740s Claire, trying desperately to stop the fall of Scotland. While the same women, these two characters are vastly different. It’s hard to believe t

While the same women, these two characters are vastly different. It’s hard to believe that 1740s Claire could be considered naive, considering what happens to her in Outlander, but she embodied it again and again as they worked to stop Charles. Yet naive doesn’t mean stupid. I loved how she stood up for herself and others in a society where women weren’t often allowed or encouraged to do so.

On the other hand, 1968 Claire was charming, engaging, and initially allowed a little of her sorrow to show. All naivete was gone, erased by the loss of her husband, a scar she hid well. It’s this Claire, this dynamic, fascinating character, that was the star of Dragonfly.

She was cool and composed on the outside, an exterior that hid rioting emotions: guilt, wistfulness, joy, and sorrow. It was only once she, Brianna, and Roger started their hunt for Jamie that this calm composure began to crack.

It’s been a while since a book made me feel the way Dragonfly did. From the battle scenes of 1740s Scotland to the drafty graveyards of the 60s’, Gabaldon tugged – no, YANKED – at the heartstrings.

Yet the second Outlander installment did have its faults. There were pages of information, large sections filled with what felt like the most minute details of the French court, the Scottish towns, and everywhere in between, that could have been summarized or possibly skipped entirely. Maybe this is more of personal preference; I wanted the story to get on with it.

In retrospect, that was a minor detail. The beauty of Dragonfly in Amber isn’t in the particulars of the setting or the descriptions of dress. Instead, it lay in Claire, a woman torn between two marriages, two times, and two worlds.

4 Stars

Posted January 23, 2017 by Ellen in reviews / 0 Comments
Tags: , , , ,


May 12, 2016

Review | Tricky Twenty-Two by Janet Evanovich

Review | Tricky Twenty-Two by Janet EvanovichTricky Twenty-Two by Janet Evanovich
Series: Stephanie Plum, #22
Publisher: Bantam, November 2015
Pages: 292
Format: Ebook
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Something big is brewing in Trenton, N.J., and it could blow at any minute.
Stephanie Plum might not be the world's greatest bounty hunter, but she knows when she's being played. Ken Globovic (aka Gobbles), hailed as the Supreme Exalted Zookeeper of the animal house known as Zeta fraternity, has been arrested for beating up the dean of students at Kiltman College. Gobbles has missed his court date and gone into hiding. People have seen him on campus, but no one will talk. Things just aren't adding up, and Stephanie can't shake the feeling that something funny is going on at the college - and it's not just Zeta fraternity pranks.
As much as people love Gobbles, they hate Doug Linken. When Linken is gunned down in his backyard it's good riddance, and the list of possible murder suspects is long. The only people who care about finding Linken's killer are Trenton cop Joe Morelli, who has been assigned the case, security expert Ranger, who was hired to protect Linken, and Stephanie, who has her eye on a cash prize and hopefully has some tricks up her sleeve.

Stephanie Plum knows her own weaknesses, but when a frat brother called Gobbles skips bail, she thinks this one will be a piece of cake. What she doesn’t know is that Gobbles’ fraternity, Zeta (reminiscent of Animal House) will do anything to keep her from nabbing him. As the case unravels, so does her personal like, making it a definitely Tricky Twenty-two.

Evanovich’s 22nd installment has all the hallmarks of the series – humor, a little slapstick, and a light-hearted atmosphere that betrays some of the deeper topics – but what I loved about Tricky was her emphasis on Stephanie.

Usually, Stephanie’s personal development goes by the wayside as she chases after whatever crackpot is wreaking havoc in Trenton, but when, barely after the story opens, Joe Morelli breaks things off with Stephanie, Evanovich gets real with her trademark character. Stunned by Morelli’s decision, Stephanie is forced to reconsider just what she wants out of life and, to be blunt, grow up.

Don’t get me wrong – I have a serious soft spot for Stephanie, especially since we share crazy curly brown hair and a love of cake. It’s refreshing to see her character get a chance to grow and move out of the phase she was in for a majority of the series.

Besides Steph, Tricky Twenty-two has all the hilarity I’ve come to expect from Evanovich. The references to Animal House and scenes with her family added an extra bit of humor that kept me laughing the entire plane ride. Lula, as always, shines through the book and keeps the atmosphere from getting too serious.

Light, fun, and fluffy as always, Tricky Twenty-two is must read and is definitely heading to my reread shelf! I can’t wait to see where Steph heads next.

4 Stars

Posted May 12, 2016 by Ellen in reviews / 0 Comments
Tags:


February 11, 2016

Review | A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Review | A Storm of Swords by George R.R. MartinA Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
Series: , #3
Publisher: Bantam, March 2003
Pages: 1177
Format: Paperback
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Here is the third volume in George R.R. Martin's magnificent cycle of novels that includes A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. Together, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, destined to stand as one of the great achievements of imaginative fiction.
Of the five contenders for power, one is dead, another in disfavor, and still the wars rage as alliances are made and broken. Joffrey sits on the Iron Throne, the uneasy ruler of of the Seven Kingdoms. His most bitter rival, Lord Stannis, stands defeated and disgraced, victim of the sorceress who holds him in her thrall. Young Robb still rules the North from the fortress of Riverrun. Meanwhile, making her way across a blood-drenched continent is the exiled queen, Daenerys, mistress of the only three dragons still left in the world. And as opposing forces manoeuver for the final showdown, an army of barbaric wildlings arrives from the outermost limits of civilization, accompanied by a horde of mythical Others—a supernatural army of the living dead whose animated corpses are unstoppable. As the future of the land hangs in the balance, no one will rest until the Seven Kingdoms have exploded in a veritable storm of swords...

There are some books that are simply impossible to review. A Storm of Swords is one of these books.

There’s a majesty in Martin’s words, an ebb and flow that hooks me, even when I think I can put the book down and walk away. It’s his quiet narration that draws me in and drops me in the middle of the Iron Islands or in the Red Keep. This narrative pull keeps coming back to his massive tomes, keeps me reading even when the chapters aren’t grabbing my attention the way I hoped they might, and keeps me up late at night for just one more page.

Out of Martin’s many characters in Storm, a few stood out: Sansa, Arya, Cersei and Tyrion. I gobbled down their chapters like I was starving and couldn’t wait for their names to appear on the chapter introduction pages. Sansa’s development in the last book, continued in this one, is extraordinary. She’s changed from a somewhat spoiled girly girl into a young woman hardened by many horrible things, the least being life in Joffrey’s court. Arya’s wildness grew even more, and while her chapters were occasionally slow, seeing the events through her eyes painted the narrative in an entirely new meaning. Cersei has gotten used to her role of power as Queen Regent and isn’t quite ready to let it go yet. Tyrion…well, it’s safe to say he’s my favorite character of the bunch.

Tyrion Lannister, Storm of Swords

He handles some of the worst situations with a darkly funny humor and has the most unbiased commentary of the bunch of the story.

I’d heard about many of the events that go on in Storm, but there was nothing like actually reading them. Holy moly. “Storm” of swords, indeed. Even as each army recovers from the battle at the end of A Clash of Kings, there’s skirmishes, loyalties (both mixed and true) tested, and, well, just general chaos. It was addictive.

Why no five star rating? Well, there were certain portions of Storm that I found myself skimming. I think Bran will play a huge role in the story to come (especially after what happens in this book), but his chapters didn’t do much for me. Dany’s storyline was a hit and miss – there were elements I loved and others I could have done without. Some chapters didn’t feel necessary to move this story forward and slowed the pace.

I’m interested to see how Martin brings all of these storylines together. The mass of well-developed characters, the strength of their passion and histories, and their individual motives will force the story to go above and beyond.

 

4 Stars

Posted February 11, 2016 by Ellen in reviews / 0 Comments
Tags: , ,


September 24, 2015

Review | Wicked Charms by Janet Evanovich

Review | Wicked Charms by Janet EvanovichWicked Charms by Janet Evanovich, Phoef Sutton
Series: Lizzy & Diesel, #3
Publisher: Bantam, June 2015
Pages: 308
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Lizzy and Diesel return once again in an all-new adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Janet Evanovich and her co-author, Phoef Sutton!
Murdered and mummified more than ninety years ago, bootlegger Collier “Peg Leg” Dazzle once found and re-hid a famous pirate’s treasure somewhere along the coast of New England. A vast collection of gold and silver coins and precious gems, the bounty also contains the Stone of Avarice — the very item reluctant treasure seeker, Lizzy Tucker, and her partner, Diesel, have been enlisted to find. While Lizzy would just like to live a quiet, semi-normal life, Diesel is all about the hunt. And this hunt is going to require a genuine treasure map and a ship worthy of sailing the seven seas . . . or at least getting them from Salem Harbor to Maine.
Greed is eternal and insatiable, and Lizzy and Diesel aren’t the only ones searching for the lost pirate’s chest. There are people who have dedicated their entire lives to finding it, and are willing to commit murder or make a deal with the devil, just to hold the fortune in their hands. One of those people may even be Wulf, Diesel’s deceptively charming and enigmatic cousin. Wulf desires the Stone of Avarice. He also desires Lizzy. It’s hard to say how far he’s willing to go to gain either one.
It’s a swashbuckling adventure full of raiders, monkeys, minions, and mayhem. Lizzy and Diesel are going to have to do everything they can to keep their heads above water and hope they are living a charmed life.

I had mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, I adore Evanovich: the queen of wacky characters, fun plots, and hot sexual tension is high on my favorite authors list. On the other, I kinda sorta maybe felt like I read this book before.

We rejoin Lizzy and Diesel as another stone is revealed (in a pirate museum, of all places) and the hunt begins. This time, there’s a creepy man who is convinced he’s the demon lord of greed, his wacko sidekick who is more than a little mentally unstable, and our heroic duo trying to save the world. 

The pirate lore was interesting, but I felt the story went a little too far when Glo and Lizzy find themselves locked in a rotting ship’s hold. This act of violence didn’t quite fit the story and, to be honest, felt unnecessary. Actually, quite a few elements (plot and character) just didn’t need to go there. 

I enjoyed the trademark Evanovich elements: wacky plot, strong banter in the dialogue, and the sense of fun. I do wish that Lizzy and Diesel’s relationship (or whatever it is) would progress, even just a little. This standstill is starting to get old.

Maybe this is just me (and it very well may be), but I kept getting Lizzy and Stephanie Plum confused. They sound the same. Joe calls Stephanie cupcake. Lizzy makes magic cupcakes. The relationship between Lizzy and Diesel is a lot like that between Stephanie/Joe and Stephanie/Ranger.

Just me?

Will I read the next one? Probably. Curiosity and a love of the Steph Plum books will keep me coming back to Evanovich’s books.
3 Stars

Posted September 24, 2015 by Ellen in reviews / 0 Comments
Tags: , , , ,