Author: Marissa Meyer

June 15, 2017

Review | Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Review | Heartless by Marissa MeyerHeartless by Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends, November 2016
Pages: 453
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

The Queen of Hearts is one of those mythical figures in literature, a character so intense in their present state that we forget they were once more (or less) than they are now. From Voldemort to the Joker so many villains get to tell their side of the story in today’s novels. It’s time, don’t you think, for the Queen of Hearts to share hers?

I was thrilled when I saw Marissa Meyer was writing a take on Alice in Wonderland. After The Lunar Chronicles had ended, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on her next book and immediately pre-ordered it. Unfortunately, it wasn’t all I hoped.

In all fairness, I probably cracked this up in my head more than it should be. Cath (our pre-Queen of Hearts) is a sweet girl, devoted to her baking and desperately wants to leave the court to open her own bakery with her friend. Yet without her parents’ permission and financial support, Cath’s in a bind. Her parents would rather she marry a nice (preferably rich) man who would take care of their eccentric daughter. Lo and behold, the King of Hearts soon reveals he has his eye on her, but too late; Cath is entranced by the court joker.

The courtship of Jest (the Joker) and Cath is sweet, edged with just a hint of danger. Both know nothing can come of it, and with the king’s eye on Cath, she’s all but queen. But her little rebellion livens up what is otherwise a slow narrative in Heartless.

Without the fast pace of The Lunar Chronicles, Cath’s story fell flat. Instead, Meyer pumps up each supporting character’s primary characteristic: the king gets more ludicrous, the Cat more mysterious, the Hatter more…well, mad. With a great narration, the characters’ eccentricities wouldn’t have been as noticeable, but instead, they are left to carry the weight of the story.

Cath herself started to border on whiny, making it hard to stick with her through the slow portions of Heartless (and as much as I hate to say it, there were quite a few). I stopped caring about her; really, by the end, View Spoiler »

The transformation from Cath to the Queen at the end of the book stole the show. I might reread that section just to revel in the change. As for the rest of the story? Not for me.

3 Stars

Posted June 15, 2017 by Ellen in reviews / 0 Comments
Tags: , , , ,


November 15, 2015

An Open Letter to Marissa Meyer on Winter

An Open Letter to Marissa Meyer on WinterWinter by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles, #4
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends, November 2015
Pages: 824
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Dear Marissa,


There are a lot of books I’ve fallen in love with and proudly displayed on my reread shelf, but I have never stacked an entire series on that particular self. The Lunar Chronicles is the first to sit, proudly chronological, on that rather overstuffed bookcase. 

It’s not just due to your fantastic storytelling or your unique characters (both of which I love). For me, it’s the retelling and revitalization of beloved fairy tales in a scifi/fantasy work of cyborgs, long lost princesses, evil queens, and dashing space captains. 

Winter became my favorite character before I knew it. Cinder will always have a special place in my heart, but Winter’s innate kindness, eccentricity, and struggle with her Lunar gift won me over. The mixture of innocence and intelligence in her character was the perfect representation of Snow White, but the humor and optimism was all Winter. 

Like most of us, I’ve been waiting impatiently to find out what happens to Cinder and her friends since Cress. It was still a bittersweet moment when Winter arrived on my doorstep – I couldn’t wait to read it, but I didn’t want The Lunar Chronicles was over. The world building of Luna made me feel like I was there, walking with Winter through the halls or planning with Cinder. I loved the fast pace and tension of the action scenes, and the depth and intensity in the character scenes. 

Winter is, without a doubt, the best conclusion to a truly remarkable series.

And if I ever meet the president, I’m going to offer a high five.

Best,

Ellen

 

5 Stars

Posted November 15, 2015 by Ellen in reviews / 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,


September 30, 2015

A Quotable Review | Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

A Quotable Review | Scarlet by Marissa MeyerScarlet by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles, #2
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends, February 2013
Pages: 452
Goodreads | Amazon

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.
Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

I thought long and hard about my post for the #TLCReadAlong (which if you aren’t doing, you should. Peer pressure. Hah.) I didn’t want to write another review, because, let’s face it, I LOVED THIS STORY, and I already wrote that here. I wrote a comparison post, but it didn’t tickle my fancy. I wrote a parallels post, but that wasn’t so hot. Then, this morning at work while I was making graphics, I got it. A quote review.
I’ve never posted one of these, but I was inspired by Real Men Read YA’s review of Heir of Fire (one of the biggest reason I snagged it from the library), and decided to do all quotes, all graphics, all review. Hope you enjoy!

Please note – I did not create these graphics. All are attributed to the best of my knowledge.

Source
Source
Source
Source

Posted September 30, 2015 by Ellen in reviews / 0 Comments
Tags: , ,